Gospel, Pictures, Portraits, Uncategorized

His Image

I’m a very private person (which is why it regularly surprises me that I have a blog), and that encompasses hiding my talents. Even people who know me well don’t know how much I love drawing. And to be honest, my drawing abilities were serving next to no purpose until this summer—the summer I worked really hard on making something of the gifts I’ve been given, which included creating these:

Jesus Christ

The Savior of the World, as depicted in images found in the LDS Media Library.

Nathanael blog

My handsome husband. Although, to be honest, I think this one is the worst and I will most likely make changes to it.

Shelbey blog

Yours truly.

I was inspired by a comment made by a friend in church regarding the covenant Latter-day Saints make at baptism to “take His [Jesus Christ’s] name upon us.” She noted that taking the name of the Savior upon us meant we became representatives of Him, and said we should ask ourselves if we were true likenesses of Him.

I’ve never felt creative inspiration that strongly before! When she said that, I was suddenly struck with the idea of drawing pictures of the Savior, Nathanael, and me to hang in our house. These would serve as a reminder to Nathanael and I of whose countenance we are trying to take upon us, language taken from Alma 5:14:

And now behold, I ask of you, my brethren of the church, have ye spiritually been born of God? Have ye received his image in your countenances? Have ye experienced this mighty change in your hearts?

To me, becoming like the Savior is the entire purpose of this life. Any other noble purpose can be categorized under that one. I’m awful at it, and maybe you are too, but it is SO important to try!

Happy Sunday!

Standard

3 thoughts on “His Image

Leave a Reply

