Life, Love, Quotes

Five Things I Loved This Week (Plus One from Nathanael)

1. Kandee Johnson

This lady is the most darling person I’ve ever seen. I stumbled across one of her videos about a year-and-a-half ago (I think it was this video), and I was captivated by her happy personality. I haven’t even begun to plunge the depths of her video history—and probably never will—but occasionally, when I’m having a bad day, I remember Kandee Johnson. She perks me right up! I watched this one today from her other channel. (That channel is primarily focused on makeup tutorials, which I have never watched, but are probably just as bubbly.) My favorite quote from the video was something along the lines of, “Instead of focusing on how fabulous you look, try to make everyone around you feel fabulous.”

2. Flowers

My mom gave me these flowers yesterday. I love my mom and I love fresh flowers . . . and I’m pretty sure I love fresh flowers because my mom taught me to. The best part was driving around with them on my lap afterward to prevent the dirt from falling out. Try it. It’s way better than smelling exhaust, I can tell you that for sure.

Tulips

3. The Arrangement

Nathanael and I sang in church yesterday with our friend Stephany. The song we I chose was “Where Can I Turn For Peace?” The reason I point this out is because I found a really great arrangement that is free (it’s the one at the very bottom of this page)!

This arrangement caught my attention, because it does a great job of making the music match the words. Typically, Church hymns contain the same melody for each verse, which is completely understandable when you consider the fact that the hymns are aimed at a wide audience with an equally wide range of musical abilities. That sometimes leads to the melody sounding really happy on a sad verse, or the other way around. This arrangement had a really cool discordant section that highlighted the tension in the words: “Where, when my aching grows / Where, when I languish / Where, in my need to know, where can I run?”

Plus, I chose my singing companions well: my husband happens to have the dreamiest voice ever, and Stephany is an eleven-year-old who sings at least 80 times better than I do.

4. Recipe for Roman-style Chicken

Here it is. You can’t go wrong with a recipe from Giada de Laurentis.

5. This Quote (from The Count of Monte Cristo)

I’ll spare you the twenty-minute contextual explanation Nathanael received. Long story short, [SPOILER ALERT] Mme de Villefort just poisoned her second victim, and is getting away with it.

. . . He also managed to observe Mme de Villefort; and it seemed to him that a faint, dark smile passed briefly across her thin lips, like one of those sinister meteors that can be glimpsed as they fall between two clouds against a stormy sky.” (Alexandre Dumas, The Count of Monte Cristo, 895).

Maybe you had to be there. But regardless, who writes like that? It’s so beautiful.

Here’s another one that is less you-had-to-be-there.

To a happy man, a prayer is a monotonous composition, void of meaning, until the day when suffering deciphers the sublime language through which the poor victim addresses God.” (Alexandre Dumas, The Count of Monte Cristo, 132).

Trying to make that one less true and make my prayers more meaningful in all circumstances. Anyone else struggle with that?

Nathanael’s Favorite Thing This Week

1. This talk.

I guess the sport analogies really hit home with him, if ya know what I mean 😉 ;).*

* I can’t believe I stooped so low.

Standard

Leave a Reply

