Hobbies, Life

Painting

I don’t really have much to say. So here are some paintings.

This first one is probably my favorite. On the left is the photo inspiration, and it may be the worst photo of all time. It was taken after I glanced out the window at my parents’ house and saw the most gorgeous combination of colors I’d ever seen. I was too lazy to get off the couch and take a proper picture, but I snapped a quick one so that I’d be able to paint it later. I got pretty close! This was only my third painting (in my adult life), so I’m still learning.

Sunset 2Next, I wanted to paint the adorable daisies that are outside my window here in New Hampshire, and the gorgeous poppies that were outside my window until a couple weeks ago. Of course, both would look better in a meadow! This one is a little bit fifth grade for my taste, but like I said, I’m still learning. Shoulda made that sky and hill darker.

MeadowThe last time I’d painted before this was last summer, when I created this fiasco, haha. It’s really hard for me to get colors that I like with these darn acrylic paints.

Rome

I don’t think impressionism was successfully carried out here. It reminds me of the Rouen Cathedral series by Monet, which I personally think is hideous (sorry, Dad and Bernie*).

Impressionism worked a lot better in the first painting I ever did. It’s part of a two-part series by myself and my sister, Caitlin, that we did for my mom’s birthday a few years ago. Because that’s the kind of daughters we are: “Here, Mom! Gifts for your birthday, made with your canvas, your paint, and your paintbrushes!” Mine is the one on the left (featuring our cat, Lord John Roxton III) and Caitlin’s is the one on the right (featuring our dog, Scout).

Scout and Roxton

My mom even hung them up in our house. She’s always made me feel like my art was the best thing she’s ever seen!

Here’s to amateur art!

* My dad is obsessed with Monet and Bernie was my art history teacher in Paris who introduced us to many things, including the Rouen Cathedral series.

Standard

Leave a Reply

