Dreams, Family, Life, Marriage

Staying at Home

If you think about it, it’s pretty amazing to have one person completely enable all of your dreams in life.Handsome NathanaelYou want a gorgeous, hardworking, funny, golden-hearted husband? Here I am. You want an eternal marriage? Same here, let’s do it. You want to live in a flat in London and do makeup for and/or play Christine in The Phantom of the Opera at the Her Majesty’s Theatre? Umm. . . (Okay, maybe not ALL of my dreams. I dream big.)

So obviously one of my ambitions is to be a mother and nobody’s employee or boss, not even my own. I make a terrible boss of myself.

You should work.

But I don’t want to.

You’re a terrible person.

I know, I am, which makes me too depressed to work.

So that’s where Nathanael comes in.

Job interview

Off to one of his second-round interviews.

This human being is going to work every day for the rest of his life so I don’t have to. (Well, let’s be honest, I’m going to be working freaking hard, but it’s a very different field.) In fact, on our first date he told me that one of his goals was to make enough money so that his wife could be a stay-at-home mother. (He also prefaced that statement by saying he didn’t want to offend me, and in my mind I was like, Offend me? Marry me!)

I just finished my last job hopefully ever—unless Disney wants to hire me to be a princess—and I have never felt so liberated! Being in the workforce has never been fulfilling to me, and that’s not for the lack of good jobs with fantastic people (Jenn, Jeff, Dennis, Annette, Chani, David, Lisa, Sarah, Jess, Estee, Anne, and so many more). Let it also be known that I hugely admire people who work hard and build their careers.

robotics

My last job was teaching adorable children like this robotics (don’t ask), so it’s not like I’ve been doing slave labor here.

But I’m FREE!

I know this opportunity doesn’t come to everyone who wants it (or hasn’t come yet), so I’m just really grateful that it’s my turn (T minus 6 weeks until baby).

Standard

Leave a Reply

